Trails and Advocacy

January 13th, 2014 Executive Director Posted in News | Comments Off

Minnesota has over 4000 kilometers of cross country ski trails – from rugged backcountry single-track to meticulously groomed, lighted trails. These trails are funded through private, State grant-in-aid program, State general fund, State forest funds, and community sources.

Purchase of a Minnesota Ski Pass grants access to all State Park trails and State grant-in-aid trails. Some counties and municipalities require a separate pass and private trail systems have their own fees.

The MNSA advises the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources on trail development through the grant-in-aid program and advocates for facilities and trails state-wide.

For detailed information on specific trails, visit


Skiing and Cycling Around the Northland!

December 24th, 2012 Executive Director Posted in News, Races, Trails | Comments Off

Ever wonder whether the trail and route maps for various systems and rides are accurate? Help the Minnesota Nordic Ski Association measure and record your local ski trails. Use a Garmin, and upload your data to Garmin Connect. Let us know about your efforts, and we’ll add your results to our portal. Take a look at our initial efforts as recorded by board member, Rich Hoeg.

Northland Cycling and Skiing.

For instance, here is the 54k American Birkebeiner Classic (Garmin Data). At the end of the race you will have climbed (and descended) approximately 1,900 feet (or a 190 story building!). Click link to view image at full size


MnNordSki !

December 18th, 2012 Executive Director Posted in News | Comments Off

The Minnesota Nordic Ski Association is now on Facebook. Check us out … MnNordSki. We will try to provide an open site which lets skiers post photos, commentary, and have discussions.

Thanks Trail Volunteers!

December 6th, 2012 Executive Director Posted in grooming, News, Trails | Comments Off

As we head into the Winter ski season, and you purchase your Minnesota Nordic Ski Pass, please understand even with the small amount of revenue provided by your fee, our trail systems around the state would not exist without the countless hours put in my hundreds of volunteers.

Earlier this Fall we caught “Mark Stadem”, president of the Brainerd Nordic Ski Club, in the act of mowing the French Rapids Ski Trail system. This trail is one of three Grant-in-Aid (GIA) ski trails in the Brainerd area managed by the Brainerd Nordic Ski Club. Click upon the image to get a full sized view!