

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

March 16, 2018

Contact: Bob O'Hara, bobscanoe@comcast.net

2018 Nordic Skiing Awards Banquet

The Minnesota Nordic Ski Association (MNSA) will celebrate Nordic skiing in Minnesota by holding its annual awards banquet at the Mora Vasaloppet Nordic Center in Mora, Minnesota on Sunday, April 8, 2018. Social hour starts at 1:30 p.m. There is no cost for the event, although donations to MNSA will be appreciated.

The Minnesota Nordic Skiing Lifetime Achievement Award is given annually to individuals who have contributed significantly to the advancement of Nordic skiing in Minnesota. This year's winners are Bruce Adelsman and Darby Nelson.

Adelsman runs the website skinnyski.com, which has done more to provide information and promote Nordic skiing like no other person or organization. Darby Nelson, born and raised in Minnesota, is a free lance writer, conservation activist, and former Minnesota state legislator. Darby does much work for Nordic skiing behind the scenes and was instrumental in the creation of the Minnesota Ski Pass in the early 1980s.

MNSA will also provide the following awards:

Master Skier Award: Olavi Seppala, Menahga, MN

MSHSL Individual Champions: Garrett Beckrich, Grand Rapids High School; and Mara McCollor, Wayzata High School.

<u>Minnesota Biathlon High Achievers</u>: Emma Stertz, Grand Rapids, MN & Vasek Cervenka, Grand Rapids, MN <u>Minnesota-Based Collegiate High Achievers</u>: to be determined

Schedule:

1:30pm – Social hour, appetizers and beverages

2:30pm - Keynote speaker

3:30pm – Award presentation

Seating is limited, so reservations are required. Please RSVP to Bob O'Hara at bobscanoe@comcast.net or (952) 927-0874 by April 4th, 2018.